Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the environment as a whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Some individuals decide to be vegetarians or vegans with the intention of achieving their well-being. In addition, some of them claim that it is also beneficial to nature. In this essay, I elaborate on its advantages and disadvantages and discribe the reason why I believe that the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are several merits of avoiding meat or fish. The primary one is that a majority of common dieseases today relate to meat and fish consumption. For instance, excessive intake of meat products or grilled fish leads to the higher risk of certain cancers. Hence, if they do not eat them, they will reduce its possibility. Additionally, domestic animals produce a large amount of greenhouse gas, one trigger of global warming. Therefore, if humans refrain from consuming them, they will contribute to preventing global warming. However, becoming vegetarians or vegans sometimes brings demerits. One of them is that they sometimes suffer from shortages of imperative ingredients. Taking vitamin B12 as an example, as plants do not contain it enough, vegetarians and vegans are obliged to take tablets containing other chemicals as well as vitamin B12. Anothter negative aspect is that huge cultivating lands will be necessary to produce edible plants. Since plants do not contain enough calories and protains protein, more lands to cultivate crops will be demanded as their populations grow. Consequently, it will deteriorate the environment by deforestation for agriculture.  In conclusion, refraining from eating meat and fish brings both benefits and drawbacks. When analyzing both, I am inclined to say that it is more advantageous because we are facing the increasing number of people with cancer and climate change. It will be one of the efficient method to become vegetarian or vegan to tackle these issues.