Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the cas? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Mobile phones, nowadays, contain essential features with entertainment also. There has been a large growth seen in the usage hours of smartphones among younger. There are several reasons behind this situation and ı find this development more beneficial than negative. Both the reasons and my view is elaborated further. The first reason for over usage of smart devices by youngsters is the social benefit they provide. The smartphone connected to the internet opens up large possibilities, from creating new friends to communicating with them via social media. For instance, a child in my neighbourhood chats for hours with his school friends over Facebook(a social media) and also spends time over online video sharing phone application. Moreover, mobile gaming, especially multiplayer games, is another major reason for the situation. Children play different kinds of games over mobile for entertainment purposes and they involve themselves in games in such a manner, that they forget about the timing and other work to do. However, ı believes that smartphones have also increased the knowledge of pupils. İt has developed some important social skills, such as communication skills, teamwork and many more, by allowing them to work and play in groups, without the restriction of distance. In addition, children can learn through the internet by watching online videos and reading articles, which ultimately helps them in their studies as well as language skills. For example, whenever my niece requires to know about something, he searches for it on the internet and learns from it. Moreover, multiplayer online gaming improves their multitasking ability and it also gives them a competitive environment. Overall, ı agree that over usage of smartphones on a regular basis is harmful to them, but if given proper guidance, mobile phones can help them in learning some life-long skills.