Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Healthcare is one of the most important assets that is always viewed as a top priority. While advocates of governmental intervention claim that the government should take accountability to improve the well-being of its citizens as they are the backbone of the social and economic development of a country, opponents argue that maintaining good health solely lies on personal obligations. In this regard, I personally think it should be a shared responsibility. To begin with, reasons why governing bodies should be proactive in enhancing public health are varied. From a socioeconomic perspective, people in society play a pivotal role in developing societal progress and economic sustainability of a country through various contributions that include their occupations, expertise, taxes, and daily involvement in the operation of transportation, business and other sectors. As a healthy community is a guarantee of a powerful country, the government should invest in enhancing people ’s overall well-being by providing free medical check-ups. Another driving factor is to assist impoverished people in need, thereby accelerating overall healthcare and a sense of contentment. This is simply because there are some serious life-threatening health problems, related to cardiovascular diseases, cancer, or leukaemia that ordinary people cannot afford to pay the operation fees. In this sense, the significance of government investment and donation is genuinely critical, which is applied worldwide in almost all countries around the world, for example. Therefore, in these two scenarios, it is important for governments to take care of public health. On the other hand, I totally agree with the statement that individuals themselves should take care of their personal health over their entire lives despite the initiatives and support of the government in the medicine industry. Although medical practitioners and health experts recommend people lead a healthy lifestyle through various means, such as social platforms and face-to-face consultations, in my view, whether to follow these suggestions or not depends on how much individuals take care of their personal medical conditions. There are some fundamental steps that promote a healthy lifestyle, including daily exercises, the consumption of healthy meals, the avoidance of unhealthy eating or drinking habits, having sufficient sleep hours, and regular medical check-ups at a local hospital. Only when is a person serious about maintaining good health, certain health issues such as obesity and other resulting diseases related to diabetes, cardiology and hypertension would not be pressing problems in this medical advancement century when medicine and technology have ever boomed and the number of public indoor and outdoor fitness centres subsidized by the government has skyrocketed. Regardless of many attempts by the government authorities, it is suggested that individuals should also be responsible for their health. Having discussed both sides of the argument, I am more convinced that both the government and the people should strike a balance to establish a healthy lifestyle, as it is critically important for both the government and individuals.