Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age 5 or 6, right up until age of 18. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

In more developed countries, like the USA, China, and Canada children usually start writing tests at the ages of 5 and 6, right up until the age of 18 when they can legally quit school without parents ' permission. Although exams are a great way to check student's knowledge and their progress, there are quite a few disadvantages. Firstly this topic is quite controversial among parents, but mostly for teenagers, due to the stress an exam can cause. Starting this early can cause some serious damage to kids' mental health, which is extremely unhealthy especially at that age, because that's when we are the most vulnerable to negative effects. Studying for a test can be really tough on someone well being, since they want to prove to their parents and teachers, which can also be a huge stress factor. That's why it's crucial not to set high expectations for your kids and not compare them with other students. This can create a healthy environment not only for the parents, but also for the relationship between them. Although there are a few negative sides to starting this young, there are also some positive aspects to it. To begin with, students will learn how to prepare for a examination and what methods and learning skills work best for them the best, as it can be useful in the near future, for higher education. Secondly, they will also learn how to do time management. There is a huge misconception about the fact that there is no time for anything, next to studying. You can still enjoy doing sports, going to functions, graphs new hobbies and hanging out with friends while learning, because having time for yourself is also fundamental for having a healthy relationship with the school. Overall starting to write exams at a young age can be both challenging and hard, but it's important to have a support system next to you, because it can make you feel loved and supported, even during hard times.