Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely debated that it is vital for many nations to improve better quality of living for its people through economics, others argue that such emphasis could contribute to the lost of several essential social values. Hence, I personally agree with the former statment as this can alleviate the highly intensive competition which in turns of will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, it seems sensible for some to believe that some social values might be vanished due to the growth of economics. This is possibly because we lived in a fiercely fight of consumerism world in order to make an ends meet. In this sense, many might though that it gradually cultivated people to become more selfish. However, many opponents of this idea along with myself would opposed that it can reduce the tension of people for struggling to survive and leave some room for them to appreciate some social value like they used to as they have less worried about their basic standard living. To simply explain, according to maslow theory when we obtain basic needs we could develop and then proceed to pay attention to something more emtional which is the key to maintain social value like harmony and empathy toward others. That is why I believe that if they could become financial independent they can care for others. In summary, although it is undeniable that some social value might be neglected as a result of financial focus from the governments, I am of the opinion that its benefit outweight outweighs its detrimental effects of creating selfishness society.