Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the same products are available to purchase in the world, resulting in similarities among countries. I feel that this should be seen as a positive trend for the entire world. Countries becoming more alike could affect the tourism industry. Many people will visit another place to experience something unique to that culture. For example, the media shows that Thai cuisine or street food is the feature of Thailand that is most attractive to international tourists. However, now authentic Thai cuisine can be found all over the world, which means people no longer need to fly to Thailand. Also, locals in the foreign country can make it more authentic and let them crave the original taste. As a result, people do not need to travel to Thailand to fulfil their craves. In addition, the availability of the same products all over the world is leading to cultural loss caused by globalization since some products are a part of a culture. For instance, years ago most Indian people used to wear their traditional clothes daily, but the expansion of global brands, such as Nike and Adidas into the Indian market has led to a rise in the wearing of Western-style clothing among young people. As traditional Indian clothing is being replaced some of the longstanding values are being lost. In conclusion, it can be said that this is a positive and negative trend experienced by many countries. For one thing, it can threaten cultural diversity and it can increase the tourism industry in that country.