Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than a high salary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that a high salary is crucial, while others argue that other factors, determining job satisfaction, such as a healthy working environment, growth and development opportunities, and employee benefits, are not less important. Although I can sympathise with both sides of the argument, I fundamentally believe that job satisfaction should be prioritised over remuneration, especially, for the entry-level positions, where it is essential for the beginning of a successful career, and for more senior positions. There are several arguments in favour of job satisfaction being more important. First of all, being healthy both mentally and physically is the most essential right of every human, however, not every well-paid job can provide that. The most hazardous or stressful jobs are paying higher than average to compensate for the risks imposed on human health and life. As a result, sometimes choosing better better-paying job may lead to bad consequences for the lives and well-being of employees. Second, working in a friendly environment motivates employees, and they are more willing to perform at their best. Having time and resources for personal development, as well as career growth opportunities, supporting management, all play a crucial role in building loyal employee-employer relationships. Having said that, the costs of living can be high, while supportive, friendly colleagues will not pay for the bills. So, being paid less than the average labour market rate can also cause risks for both mental and physical well-being. To conclude, I am strongly in favour of prioritising job satisfaction over high remuneration. Even if a high salary may solve most of one's problems, I believe that mental and physical well-being, personal development, and work-life balance are more important.