In recent years, “responsible tourists” have paid attention to preserving both culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a “responsible tourist”. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With an ever-increasing concern about responsibility issues in tourism, some individuals have opined that tourists cannot be taking into account responsibilities for their behaviours in the travelled destination. This essay will, however, provide reasons why I strongly disagree with the given opinion. To begin with, some individuals argue that it is impractical to be a responsible tourist who is taking responsibility for cherishing traditional values and protecting the environment where they travel. From the perspective of tourists, they often struggle with the language barrier in the designated countries and if there is a lack of caution or guiding signs in tourist attractions, it may lead them to unintentional misbehaviours. Furthermore, not just conducting tourist behaviour, local merchants might address flawed guidelines for tourists. The highest priority of merchants is to maximize their profits and it often makes them not follow the regulations or ignore the value of tradition, which results in delivering wrong information to tourists to make them pay more. Taking all the reasons into consideration, it is incorrect for tourists to take responsibility in travelling country. In spite of those reasons that I mentioned above, I completely contend that tourists can value the heritage of tradition and protect the environment where they travel. Providing a few agreements on previous arguments, moving to other tourists can illuminate a different perspective. World travel has become a well-known trend these days, tourists can easily access information about travelling destinations and have a deepened understanding and knowledge of traditional values and the importance of protecting the environment in the travelling countries, which allows them to educate themselves to be responsible tourists. Moreover, governments can activate generalized solutions for this issue. In other words, collected taxes can be used to provide educational lessons and tangible provisions or infrastructure to solve this issue. In conclusion, some people argue that it is not possible to be responsible tourists. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that more considerations of other parties' facing issues should be taken into account to achieve more sustainable advantages.