Write about the following topic: More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays changes in our diet are causing several negative effects on our health, especially in the states with higher GDP, where youngsters are more likely to become obese in a premature age. Therefore, in this essay, I will discuss why this happens and the implications for the public sanitary system. Overall, in rich countries, the cost of food has been rising very sharply lately, especially for those products which are considered healthy like fruits and vegetables. As a result, citizens from lower classes tend to prefer junk food to save some money, although it has horrible consequences for their organism. Unfortunately, children are usually fed by their parents with this kind of food, consequently, their organs are damaged by what physicians call ''metainflammation'' increasing the risk of suffering from deadly diseases like diabetes or coronary artery disease. In addition, this problem has effects on society as a whole. According to data, if the number of obese people continues to rise, since they are hospitalized more often than those who are not, in hospitals there will not be enough space available for all patients in need, meaning not everyone will be able to receive the assistance they deserve. Furthermore, this situation increases the costs the public sanitary system has to face, resulting in the long-term collapse of the entire economy. In conclusion, this is a serious situation that needs to be solved as soon as possible. Governments should take action to resolve this problem before it becomes irreversible. For example, a tax on products containing high levels of added sugars or fats should be implemented to avoid people from buying them. Otherwise, more and more children will die prematurely.