Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In present days, many educationalists believe that primary school students should start learning a second language, instead of beginning to learn foreign languages in secondary school. While there are many benefits and drawbacks to this argument, I believe that the positive effects have outweighed the negative effects. There are many benefits to learning a second language in primary school. First and foremost, children can obtain knowledge more easily at a younger age. This is because kids’ brains tend to absorb information at a faster speed compared to their older counterparts. Moreover, at this period, their brains have not formed any learning patterns, thus they will not struggle to attain new information and can remember new information with ease. Hence, elementary school kids can achieve a higher level of proficiency. This would also help students in the future, as the labour market is becoming more competitive, proficiency in foreign languages would set candidates apart from their peers, gaining them advantages when applying for a job and negotiating salary. On the other hand, learning a second language at a young age may not bring about mastery. This is because while in elementary school, students are still learning how to utilize their mother tongue properly, thus studying another language would disrupt their thinking patterns, and sometimes cause the temporary loss of lexical resource. For example, English learners tend to mix English words into their conversation while communicating with others in their mother tongue. Additionally, this phenomenon could lead to the loss of national identities and make children forget their heritage. In conclusion, I believe that while it is advantageous for primary school kids to learn another language, as they can achieve a higher level of mastery and be well-prepared for their future, they should not study complex grammar structures and advanced vocabulary, and should only focus on learning basic words and forming simple sentences.