In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

•It is argued that in the future, people will not purchase printed materials such as newspapers or books since they will be able to read it through online platform for free. To certain extent, despite its potential, I disagree with the argument as free online reading materials may not be able to fully replace its paid printed relatives. • While free online reading platform has been existed since early 2000s, the rise of smartphone really boosts the popularity of online reading materials for the last decade. People find it convenient to get updates on their favorite topics at their own comfort whereas the buying printed materials requires more effort. Moreover, current generation has more concerned on the environment, hence they tend to consume the news through online rather than printed reading materials that is made from paper. • On the other hand, free online materials have several issues. One of them is commercially not viable. Some news channel mentioned that they require significant amount of commercials in order to be profitable. Unfortunately, news with high commercial intensity is considered bad and people start to leave the news channel. Furthermore, since free online materials not generating enough money, lots of talents start to leave this industry. This situation creates a demand for higher quality newspaper or books that people would be willing to pay at certain price. • To sum up, I disagree that people would still buy printed newspaper or books although they could read it through online platform without paying. While online materials are convenient and environmentally friendly, free online newspaper or books is not commercially viable and has low quality, hence people would still buy printed newspaper or books.