One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the effects of developed medical care is that individuals can live a longer life, thus increasing life expectancy. Personally, I think this improvement is not benefiting the society. Rather, it can lead to several financial problems because most of the healthcare provided nowadays is supported financially by the nation. Furthermore, fewer deaths mean that the population can grow significantly until it reaches a state of overpopulation. Better healthcare is usually supported by the subsidy from the government, thus weighing them with more financial problems. Better medical services often need advanced infrastructures and raw material supplies, which are very likely to be provided by the government. However, its revenue cannot outweigh the cost of it, creating a massive loss of money. For instance, the Indonesian government released an official statement that they have been spending trillions of rupiahs to subsidize the treatment of diabetic patients by providing them with the right medicines and cures. Although the number of deaths caused by diabetes has decreased, it is not worth the huge amount of money spent. Moreover, the advancement of medical services may cause overpopulation because of the low level of mortality it creates. If more people can grow older than in previous times, the population will increase rapidly and may result in several social issues, such as a rocketing poverty level. For example, with the better healthcare provided by the Bogor’s government in Indonesia, people who died due to diseases or nutritional problems have fallen recently. Nevertheless, the population actually rose gradually since the last decade. In conclusion, improvements in medical care are not benefiting the people significantly because they also produce financial problems for the country and cause the population to explode in numbers.