Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is widely known that more and more people, especially in developing and poor countries, try alternative medicines to deal with illnesses; however, I believe that this is a negative tendency for both: authorities of countries and common citizens. Firstly, it is a bad sign for governments, because usually humans try non-traditional treatments when there is no possibility to tackle disease with scientific methods. Generally speaking, a person attempts natural medicine when he is either desperate or uneducated. Both problems usually are caused by poor quality of educational or medical systems. Secondly, there are no globally recognised evidence that natural medicine has positive impact on people’s health. Therefore, the most of non-traditional treatments not only have no good influence on humans’ health, but also harm it in different ways, such as causing problems with stomach due to using dangerous herbs. There are a lot of events around the globe where a person is damaged by using folk medicine. Admittedly, some alternative treatments are claimed not to have negative impact. So, they at least make people have hope to become healthy again. Furthermore, it is said by scientists that mind has a direct impact on physical health. So, positive attitude to a situation may help a person to address illnesses, especially ones that can’t be treated in a scientific way, like cancer. To conclude, mostly due to poor decisions of governments, people have no choice but to believe in natural medicine and attempt it. Although, usually it doesn’t make any impact, sometimes non-traditional treatments can make a human have better mood.