Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that the youth who commit crimes had better be punished as adults. This idea seems to be refuted on account of the consequences they might face as well as the harsh treatment that might be directed towards young criminals. One major drive of the impracticality of such a notion would be that should the government treat youngsters as old criminals, they will encounter numerous serious difficulties. Examples of such hardships could be seen in not attending university and being unable to find a job. This is not to say that all the mentioned youth would participate in universities, but those who want to enroll, might not be able to do that because universities do not register those having criminal records. This being the case, prospective students would lose the chance of attending universities. Furthermore, the unemployment rate would rise, as criminals might not be hired. They, in the long run, might repeat their crimes, ranging from shoplifting to kidnapping. This, accordingly, would not be an appropriate approach. A second rationale for the failure of the theory that young people should be treated in the same way as adults could be behaviors they might witness in prisons. Such places might bring youngsters closer to those having committed multiple crimes. In doing so, young prisoners would emulate the criminals behaviors. This imitation would lead to them committing brutal crimes in the future. This being the case, they no longer fear prosecution. This method, hence, would not be constructive. In light of the above-mentioned analysis, concerning the question of whether young criminals ought to be punished as adults or not, this argument appears to be debunked due to the possibility of irreversible outcomes in addition to the destructive ideologies they might be influenced by.