The use of social media such as Facebook or Twitter is replacing face-to-face contact this century. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this technically advanced world, highly enhanced digital applications are becoming the mainstream platforms used to connect with anyone instead of meeting them in person. Some believe that these apps have certain drawbacks. I think the benefits of these advancements are high when compared to the disadvantages. On the one hand, in this fast-running era of globalization, online texting has been an important means to talk with peers who are in different parts of the world without even travelling anywhere. This digital world is giving multiple opportunities to meet with different individuals from various parts of the globe which makes people know about multi-cultural ways of learning and dealing with things. A lot of chatboxes, and video call providers help to connect and know all the whereabouts of family members or friends who are in distant places. For example, an application like WhatsApp is well-known for connecting with others through chat or call all the time without any barriers in the time zone or country of two people connecting with each other. It helps to care about our loved ones. On the other hand, some are debating about how this technology is destroying the fun of meeting peers in person and actually seeing them face-to-face. They feel that actually being with loved ones makes the bond between families and loved ones close instead of looking at them through some video calls. For Instance, a study made by a well-established educational institution, a lot of grandparents who are mostly not familiar with this new age development are hoping that they could meet their grandchildren in real-time and not prefer to watch them on screen. To conclude, I believe it is important to know and experience all the new age transformations of things. Although, many will disagree to use it for their own reasons.