Today, more children are spending their time in font of TV compared to the past. Why do you think this happens? is this a positive or negative change?

Nowadays, more and more parents are allowing their children to spend too much time in front of Television. I see this as a result of adults' lack of awareness of the negative impact of too much screen time on young kids including their health and social development. Therefore, the increasing number of underage people watching TV has been down-grade progress in our society. Ideally, parents, teachers, and other responsible adults should know the importance of suitable stimulus for kids. Unfortunately, many fail to understand that there are some media -in this case television- that bring more harm than benefits to kids especially if it is being given too much. Even worse if no adult is around to guide them while watching. We never know if the show presented is appropriate to their age. As a matter of fact, numerous studies have found that the habit of regularly watching TV for children aged under 13 has caused health problems such as low vision and a sedentary lifestyle. Furthermore, this harmful behaviour has also influenced how kids interact with their friends. It is known that kids who watch TV more than the maximum screen time recommended by experts are facing social problems such as insecurity and trouble approaching their friends. To conclude, the uprising case of little kids spending unlimited time in front of the TV is caused by parents' little knowledge of the importance of children's screen- time limitation. Personally, I strongly believe that this behavioural change in kids brings more harm than good. For instance, it has caused children's health and social problems. Therefore, adults should be more thoughtful of their kids ' watch time and find alternative media that are more beneficial to young kids e.g. drawing books, encyclopedias, interactive board games, etc.