Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Some individuals think that people are brought together by the latest technology, while others believe that it is the reason that they are away from each other. Although the trend of relative family members spending quality time together has reduced in number, I argue that technology has made communication convenient, especially overseas. On the one hand, relatives, nowadays, do not tend to allocate much time with each other in comparison to older times. This is because they prefer to have a text message or a call instead of having conversations by meeting and greeting one another, which used to be common in the old days. For example, in precious times, families with blood relations used to visit one another and spend priceless moments playing games, and having meals together, which is not commonly seen in the contemporary epoch. However, I would argue that long-distance communications have become easier. On the other hand, new technology is a gift for people living away from their families as it has become convenient for them to stay in touch with their family members. This is to say that through smartphones individuals can have conversations for hours through audio or video calls and even text messages, despite sitting miles away. For instance, websites such as WhatsApp, Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook have made it easier for users to talk to someone at the touch of a screen. Therefore, I believe that technology has brought people together. In conclusion, although modern technology has lowered the trend of relative family members spending time together, I think that it has made long-distance communication comfortable.