Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, some university students have argued that they should learn more about other subjects besides their main studies. Others think that it is only essential to give all their time and concentrate on their studies to get a qualification. Although studying to get a qualification is very difficult and requires time and effort, I believe that it is important for university students to learn more about other subjects because it is beneficial for their future. On the one side, for students to get a qualification at university that means they should give their time and effort to study because many subjects need time to understand or do research about it. Students who are studying all the time to get good marks at some point suffer from stress and pressure and they cannot learn new subjects. To illustrate, in China, 70% of university students are suffering from mental problems due to their studying different subjects besides their studies and that ended up many of them leaving university or studying in other countries. From my perspective, students should learn more about other subjects at university because that prepares them for their future. On the other side, learning other subjects for university students has benefits for improving their skills and giving them a variety of information about their future jobs and the labour market. For instance, many subjects are very important to teach students ethics work, time management, searching skills, computer skills,..etc. that will be very useful for understanding what will be required from them in future. From my point of view, learning different subjects at university is extremely important because recently many companies have required a student’s academic record to be sure that the student has different information and skills. In conclusion, many students at university have stress and pressure because of their studies and they do not have time to learn new subjects. However, I believe that learning new subjects is more important for their future job and life.