Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

It is well known that there is a lot of dangerous information on websites; therefore, some people believe that local forces should outlaw harmful content. But, in my opinion, governments must not ban any content on the Internet because it damages people's freedom and parents need to control their kids by themselves. Firstly, citizens nowadays have a right to post any data, unless it breaks laws. Moreover, it is almost impossible to distinguish between minors and residents who are above 18. In other words, censoring webs does not only protect children but also has a significant impact on adults. For example, reducing the number of webs harms the quality of scientific experiments. Secondly, parents and guardians have many ways to stop kids from using harmful content without the government's contribution. For instance, they can download apps that control the usage of apps, so they are able to block dangerous websites. Furthermore, they should explain to their offspring that the Internet has hazardous information. Finally, if parents are not sure about children's safety, they should not introduce gadgets to kids. Admittedly, local forces must better control banned content because now it is easy to find both scams and content of outlawed organisations, such as terrorists. Frankly, there are countries that still don't have cyber police, whose goals are to capture hackers. To conclude, governments must not censor any content that is not already banned because eventually, they will ban everything, except cartoons for kids. Moreover, guardians need to control children because they ought to pick by themselves what is safe.