In most countries, prison is an effective solution for the problem of crime. Some people think a more effective solution is to provide a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of measures for the crime has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that offering education is a better way to tackle the crime, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe both views should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence alongside this contention will be discussed including the relevant examples. On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that a prison law lowers the criminal rates by preventing people from involving in crime. Perhaps the most principal advantage is that the criminals are isolated far from general society for several years, making them not to repeat the crime. Another grave issue among this issue is that a severe punishment such as prison, being isolated from social area, discourage individuals to engage in crime. To exemplify, a number of people have some kinds of fear about prison. For these reasons, there seem to be a solid basis for several of arguments in favor of the prison. On the other hand, however, it does seem to be short-sighted to contend that education merely brings with its negatives. The most oft-cited argument is that education would be a fundamental measure to prevent crime. If students are instilled with the harmful of the crime, they will likely do so far even when they’re grown up. Seoul National University has demonstrated that if education such as campaign about crime were introduced as compulsory education courses, the criminal rates are anticipated to decreased by 35%, which was a significant change. Another convincing reason is that less tax money is needed in the case of education. In the light of the above, I also find these persuasive. In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are various opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side has its strengths, as discussed above.