Due to a more sedentary lifestyle, children in developed nations have higher levels of obesity compared to previous generations. What problems does this cause and what are the possible solutions?

Recently, childhood obesity has become a major issue, particularly in urban areas, owing to the predominantly sedentary lifestyle. This essay will discuss health complications and economic burdens as primary problems arising from this phenomenon. It will then suggest encouraging physical activity and promoting healthy eating as potential solutions. In medicine, obesity is considered a disease requiring an effective management and treatment. Furthermore, many diseases are linked to obesity. In other words, obese children are at higher risk of developing certain physical health conditions such as hypertension, diabetes and hyperlipidemia. Moreover, having a high BMI during childhood predisposes children to psychological disorders. Evidence suggests that overweight students are more likely to have anxiety, depression and low self-esteem than their peers. Consequently, as health issues grow, it is a financial strain for the government to fund the healthcare sector to manage these conditions. To address these problems,multiple solutions can be proposed. Firstly, as obesity results from consuming more calories than burning them, educational institutions should encourage children to exercise. Thus, sports and physical education should be prioritized in the curriculum. Also, parents should instill a love of physical activities such as gardening or walking in their kids to compensate for a sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, a healthy diet should be further promoted. Hence, restricting fast food consumption and replacing it with healthy alternatives such as fruits and vegetables is recommended. In support of this argument, a 2016 study conducted by a group of researchers at the University of Cambridge, UK, found that nutritional diet plans contribute to enhanced performance. Thus, to summarize, childhood obesity has a detrimental impact on the health of individuals and leads to economic challenges. However, as the saying goes, “a healthy mind in a healthy body”, encouraging physical activity and fostering healthy eating habits among children are key solutions to promote healthy development.