Every country should produce enough everything that the country needs so it should not rely on imports. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is undeniable that every nation is required to manufacture local products rather than relying on imports from other countries. I strongly agree with the statement, as it has many positive developments for the country, meanwhile, it mitigates the risk of a shortage of products in the country. To begin with, there are significant positive reasons why a country should produce local goods sufficiently. Firstly, when a product has been produced locally, the production cost is effective, in other words, it could achieve the desired outcome at the lowest possible cost. This might be because labor cost is less expensive since they can be recruited locally and there might be no extra charges for overseas shipping fees for buying raw materials. Secondly, actively hiring local residents creates many job opportunities nationally. As a result of cost-effective products, individuals’ purchasing power of local-made items tends to be growing. Subsequently, it could further contribute to the country ’s GDP rate growth if these items are manufactured with international standards to export then leading towards global distribution. On the other hand, some people argue that globalization has drawbacks to all parties involved. Companies can relocate to other countries where labor wages are cheaper than thier original location. It consequently leads to an unemployment rate arising in the country. Another negative impact of globalisation is that it enhances the gas emission from human activities of operating factories and its wastes create more pollution. If the companies didn’t enact any legislation and take any responsibility for it, it might worsen the environment and society. In conclusion, after I had considered both views, I think every nation should produce its own local goods enough as it has greater advantages for the majority of citizens in an aspect of work opportunities rather than relying on imports from abroad.