More and more universities are replacing face-to-face teaching with online courses. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more universities are replacing one-on-one teachings with online courses and materials which is the new trend in education. However, it has not been immune to criticism and drama with enthusiasts supporting this change and some who are steadfast in their belief that the old and traditional way is better. Although face-to-face teaching is not without its merits, I myself align more with those supporting this change. First and in my opinion the most important advantage that online courses have over their counterparts is the convenience that they provide and how effortless they can be. By using the Internet as an infrastructure for learning as opposed to doing it in person, we can eliminate a lot of major and minor nuisances and annoying affairs such as but not limited to commuting. Take a student for instance, this student may spend well over an hour commuting to their university to take but one class, but with online courses they do not have to do that and in the process, they would save time and may spend it somewhere more fruitful. Moreover, the fact that online courses are repliable is a great advantage, one that in my view does not get enough credit. Some students may need to restudy and since online courses can be watched after the course is done they can do it without hassle, a luxury unknown to the old way of learning. In addition to that, they can change the playback speed to their own liking. For example, a student who is in a hurry to study can do it easily owing to the fact that these courses can be recorded and therefore can be watched later at their convenience. To conclude, it is my belief that while being present at a class and studying there is not without any advantages, the option to have online courses and the benefits that they offer outweigh the ones of the former way of learning. Benefits such as convenience and reliability, in my view, are valuable.