When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is common, that people decide what kind of person they have met by the first look. This essay explains why it could be negative for a person, by telling about a possibility of wrong decisions and reputation issues. Usually, a person bases the opinion about new people by the first impressions. It could be explained by the fact that human's brain does not like uncertainty and requires to categories any new incoming information, no matter is it another person or event. For example, in many cultures and countries a great amount of fancy phrases, related to the judgement by the first look, could be found, which could be consired as a proof of commonness of such behavior. As a result, the wrong decision could be made, moreover, not only a good person could be taken as whom is not liked, but in a worse case, who could be qualified as a negative person, might look reliable and trusted and sympathetic. Additionally to the first point, being a fast-thinker in the particular situation could harm people's reputation. Possible inappropriate actions based on misconsiderations could lead other people to avoid relationships with such person, because they will try to avoid to be unfairly assessed or misunderstood in a few minutes. As an example, many trainer that help others to develop their communication skills, say in their lessons that this is a very important rule to better know the person, before many any conclusions. In conclusion, despite it is a common behavior to quickly decide what kind of person was met, it mostly has the negative outcomes. Such as to have a harmed reputation or to make a wrong finding about person's characted and intentions.