Fewer people are reading books these days. Therefore we should close all libraries and use the funds for something more urgent like healthcare. Do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that libraries be closed and the funds allocated for these libraries be redirected to more urgent fields such as healthcare given the fact that the number of people reading books has declined these days. Although this proposal proves significant to some extent, I am of the opinion that libraries are still of great importance with numerous benefits bringing to society. There is, admittedly, much to be said about reallocating money for medicine instead of libraries. The advancements in technology have brought much convenience to the world. One of them is enabling people to access information without physical engagement, making physical libraries less significant as online libraries on the internet have replaced them. Since the information is available online, money used for construction and sources of physical libraries had better be spent on more essential areas. Moreover, in poor parts of the world, people are more in need of medical treatment than libraries. Therefore, directing funds to medical fields can be more beneficial in this regard. Having said that, I am still in favour of not putting closures on libraries due to the advantages of them, especially in the long term, one of which is that libraries are still greatly valued in some poor countries where the internet is not accessible. Libraries give equal access to information in such places. If libraries are closed, the literacy levels of people in poor countries will diminish, bringing about the crisis of nations. Not merely do libraries supply equal access to the world, but it is of more significance to healthcare. Although spending money on healthcare can meet people's meets in the short term, directing that money to libraries is more efficient in the long-term period. Literate people are aware of how to give first aid, for example. Hence, libraries still hold great importance in societies. In conclusion, while there may be suggestions for reallocating funds from libraries to more immediate needs like healthcare, libraries serve crucial educational and social roles that cannot be replaced by any other means of sources.