Some children find learning history at school very exciting, but many others think it is very boring. In what ways can history be brought to life for all school children?

In a history class, we can always witness children filled with curiosity or excitement, while we can also observe others who are disengaged and bored. These students think history is irrelevant to their modern lives and it is said that having to learn dates and facts is torture for young people. Since students do not know the relevance of themselves and history, teachers can bring them to a historic sites. It can make students believe the historical events in the textbook really happened, then this may arouse their curiosity toward history. When I travelled through Tainan five years ago, which is a city full of history, I visited many places such as palace built by the Dutch conquerer in centuries ago. That is the time I truly believe that there was really a time this place was taken by the Dutch government. However, some children may still find historical sites boring, as they can not see what really happened then. Therefore, history teacher can play movies of documentaries of the historical events on class and have group discussion afterwards. Everyone loves story, especially for young man. Stories can relate young people to the life in years or centuries ago, because we can feel emotion, conflict or difficulties the role faced, then the movie watcher might want to know more about the background to fully understand the characters in videos. This would be the best time to introduce history. The core issues of history teaching is students do not know the connection of modern days and the old days. If we can successfully reconnect the boundaries, making students getting interested in the time before, they would love history and find the fun in it.