Some modern artists receive huge sums of money for the things they create, while others struggle to survive. Governments should take steps to resolve this unfair situation. To what extent do you agree?

The issue of inequality has been the subject of heated debates for over a millennia. The idea that some people receive more than they deserve is not novel and is supported by many. This way of thinking has found its way into the field of art. Many critics believe that some modern artists earn enormous amounts of finances while others are left behind in poverty; thus, this situation should be changed with the involvement of the government. This essay will provide an evaluation of the issue supported by arguments. Overall, I would strongly disagree with this opinion. To start with, I find the idea of governmental interference quite unethical. Despite the fact that many people do not find modern art appealing, trying to enforce their own judgements and supporting less successful authors to equalise the industry is unfair. The unfairness stems from the fact that most of the artists are on mostly even playfield. Everyone has to work extremely hard and show their best creatively. Moreover, majority of customers and connoisseurs have chosen certain creators over others and solidified their choices by voting with their wallets. Therefore, the involvement of officials would imply that their opinion is more valuable and that they should be able to decide who is supposed to receive financial support and who is not. Additionaly, the second argument that disproves governmental support is connected with the effective allocation of resources. Spending taxpayer's money is an important process that requires thorough consideration and the ability to see the bigger picture. While art is an integral part of culture and society, allocating funds for the support of less-known artists may be irresponsible for several reasons. First of all, this may lead to scammers exploiting the system to receive welfare; secondly, these resources could serve a better purpose. For example, many regions in my country (such as Tula and Ryazan regions) have underdeveloped infrastructure. Thus, spending funds on these improvements would yield much better results and help more citizens. To sum everything up, even though art is essential to humans, it is important to understand that this is not the domain where government should be involved. While, allocating some funds to develop overall culture may be helpful and may indirectly assist many creators. Intervening too much may lead to dire consequences.