Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant’s past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions that a jury should receive a defendant ’s past criminal record before they make their decision about the case. In my view, I disagree with this viewpoint, I will discuss my views in this essay. Firstly, the background details of the defendant would impact the jury's judgment. A person who stole a bread should not be charged as a serious criminal due to his past mistake, instead, the jury should make decisions based on this case individually, because the previous crimes have been punished. Meanwhile, all crimes have particular laws, the jury should make a decision according to the law, and any other things should not play a role in influencing judgment. Secondly, giving the jury past criminal records is a violation of Human Rights and Privacy. The defendant has not been accused as guilty by the judge, thus the defendant has the right protected by law. Therefore, the jury has no right to get the background of the accused, otherwise, the conclusion made by the jury could be seen as an injustice, and the judgment should not take effect. In conclusion, the jury should make decisions case by case, not influenced by previous crime background. Besides, following the law that protects the defendant, be careful not to violate human rights. Based on these reasons, I believe the jury should not get the previous information.