Writing Samples Band 5 Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people’s lives? Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, global fashion trends influence the way people dress. This is because public figures who have been hired by fashion brands are widespread in society. This could be a negative development because many individuals should save their own income to use in emergency situations rather than buying many clothes. Firstly, the celebrities behind the global fashion trends are more popular in society. This is because people usually want to purchase clothes that are worn by celebrities or public figures. For example, in a particular country, such as Korea, a girl group called Blackpink promotes a brand called Prada. As a result, people or their fans are encouraged to spend their savings on clothes from the brand that is endorsed by the group. Secondly, it is a negative development because people should save their income. One of the reasons is that fashion trends usually come from famous brands. Furthermore, luxury brands are expensive, and many people would be better off saving their money, which can be used in emergency situations. For instance, many middle-class people in Jakarta purchase luxury brands without thinking twice about their money. As a result, when the funds are needed in emergency situations such as theft, illness, or unexpected expenses, they cannot afford it because their funds have been spent on luxury habits. In conclusion, although public figures get some profits from companies that hire them. I believe that global fashion trends have a negative impact on people ’s saving habits, rather than saving money for emergency situations.