Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. What are the advantages and disadvantages for children of watching television?

It is believed that children nowadays intend to spend time watching TV as compared to their past that has made them lazy.In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of watching TV and its effect on children's activities. To commence with the pros of spending excessive time watching TV firstly, it helps children to explore things, people and specifically education. In other words, educational programmes can improve their social skills as well as academic performance.so, these programmes have a positive effect on their learning behaviours similarly children can improve their general knowledge and secondly children can know about their culture and traditions and different values. For example, The Adam family and Little Einstein are famous programmes that boost children's learning. Thus, spending time on TV enables children to groom their personalities and well-being. On the other side, watching TV have some cons such as neglected children parental Relationship, children have less interaction with their parents as a result they face many behavioural issues such as violent behaviour, smoking and criminal activities as well as psychological problems like stress, anxiety and obesity. however, many programmes also show aggression, use of a gun and other equipment which help children to learn aggression and have distorted view of the world. children feel that the world is an unsafe place to live. For instance, research has shown that watching TV for more than 2 hours increases the risk factor of obesity in children, Therefore, prolonged watching TV causes cognitive and behavioural problems in children. To sum up, watching TV have a negative effect on children's health and behaviour but it impacts more positively on children's academic and intellectual abilities.