In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Consumption of drugs that enhance an athlete’s endurance and stamina are on the rise, especially with sportsmen and women who participate in prominent events such as the Olympics. In this essay, I will delve into some of the reasons as to why this happens and plausible ways to prevent such unethical acts. With any sporting event, spectators are an integral part of it. We also need to understand that personal glory is desired by human beings at some point in time of their life. It is no different that professionals in sporting careers feel that way. One of the possible reasons why these drugs are on the rise is due to a sense of superiority that the athlete gains when winning an event. Another reason perhaps could be peer pressure from the respective sporting committees to win and upkeep the pride of the nation. Sometimes an athlete is insufficiently remunerated to compete in these events. Hence the motive to be financially stable is another factor. Although the above social reasons are valid, we should not forget the addiction aspect of these drugs. Due to the fact that the participant gets a sense of superpower and God like status, they succumb to the consumption without the thought of side effects. The easy access to these drugs on the black market is another reason why these unethical acts are on the rise. There are numerous ways in which we can deter this act. Primarily, more stringent and frequent testing standards by event organizers will help. A moderate and healthy level of competition instilled by the coaches would ease some of stress that leads to the athlete’s desire to consume. Even though the salaries for these professionals are varied, adequate remuneration will help mitigate this problem. Further development of law enforcement to curb illegal sale of such drugs will also alleviate the issue. In conclusion, perhaps one or multiple factors stated above might encourage a sportsperson to use banned drugs. But in my belief, if any one of the resolutions are put in effect we may notice a reduction in such behavior.