Some people think that museums should be enjoyable places to entertain people, while others believe that the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

It is argued by some groups of people that museums should be a dedicated place for educating people while others think that they should be a place for entertainment purposes. Although entertaining museums may attract more spectators, I believe that knowledge should be provided through the preservation of artefacts for future generations. On the one hand, museums provide pleasurable experiences to visitors attracting a greater number of people to museums. This is because they allow people to indulge in games, interactive activities, and creative exhibitions. For example, some Indian museums especially conduct family nights by conducting quizzes and performances that increase the number of visitors ranging from young children to older members of families. However, I argue that education should be the main purpose of museums. On the other hand, providing education by preserving cultural heritage and artefacts for coming generations should be the motive of museums. That is to say that museums should be meant to educate people so that rich cultural knowledge may be passed on to people for ages. In addition, it enriches the learning of the present generation. For instance, the British Museum possesses millions of old artefacts to date, spreading knowledge as their main purpose to a wider group of people from all over the world. Therefore, I believe that museums should serve the objective of spreading education. In conclusion, while enjoyable activities can attract more visitors to museums, I think that education should be the main purpose so that rich heritage remains preserved for future generations.