People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society. Make any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

Today, people are becoming more involved in using legal and illegal drugs including youth. Many experts believe that it is the responsibility of the family and people in the community. There are many reasons behind this problem as well as appropriate solutions. One of the causes of why youth is involved in this is due to lack of guidance, especially from parents, teachers and society. Moreover, it is prominent nowadays that every age suffers from mental health problems. For instance, a college student who's unable to cope with problems in academics or in the family, because of insufficient support from loved ones, would prefer to use abusive drugs as a way to ease their mind. One way to prevent this is to educate each guardian to look out for their children, talk to them, and give advice which leads them to the right path. Furthermore, this can also be the result of their friends' influence because young tend to be acquainted with anyone without appraising their personalities. For instance, high schoolers are surrounded by schoolmates who use drugs. To gain friendships and experience how to be cool, their friends will encourage them to try out various substances which in the end affects their studies and behaviours. As a solution, the government should provide stricter punishments to people including underage individuals who use these substances. Authorities should also require each of them to join a group that highlights the results of using narcotics. In conclusion, some people behave this way due to some factors, first, their mental instability and lastly, the environmental influence of others. Thus, answers include parents showing them the appropriate guidance and for the government to establish educators such as groups focusing on the negative effects of using these drugs inappropriately.