Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our modern day and age, technology has transformed many aspects of our lives including communications. Some members of society believe that online platforms such as Facebook and Facetime have brought people together more than ever whereas others argue these platforms have unfavourable outcomes for society. In this essay, I will go over both points of view and give my input on the matter. On one hand, it can be clearly seen how advancements in technology have changed our modern lives. Nowadays, every member of society has a mobile phone which they use for conducting businesses or calling loved ones. By using social media, people maintain relationships with their old classmates or relatives who live miles away. For instance, I currently reside in Spain while most of my family members and friends are in Saudi Arabia and social media has helped me to stay connected with them despite the distance and the time-zone differences. On the other hand, while online communication has people staying in touch from afar, it has created a distortion in real-life communication skills. As a result of excessive indulgence in virtual life and online conversations, It is common to see youngsters who lack the expected social manners and skills to talk to people at social events as they did not experience these situations regularly in their lives. For example, In Arabic countries, children were expected to join their parents and grandparents in social events to learn common forms of courtesy and social exchanges which can not be learned through social media. Furthermore, excessive use of digital devices has affected negatively people's attention span and their ability to focus on tasks. In conclusion, although social media has helped millions of people around the world to stay connected, they need to use it in moderation to avoid its negative impacts. Additionally, I believe children's use of online communication should be minimized and monitored by their parents to prevent unfavourable outcomes of early use of electronic gadgets.