Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to increase the length of prison sentences. Others argue that there are more effective ways to reduce crime, such as rehabilitation programs and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

There has been contentious debate on effective ways to minimize criminal activities. Although rehabilitation and education could be beneficial for non-intentional crimes, I always believe that extended prison sentence is crucial for intensive crimes. It is undoubtedly significant to provide emotional support to the offenders by putting them into rehab centres. Whereas these places could provide sheer benefit to the perpetrators who got involved in the activities because of self-defence and unintentional manner. An example is a school boy got killed by a women by her car in Melbourne few weeks ago. I believe that for cases like this rehabilitation and encouraging to study during the sanctioned years could be helpful, however may not impact on number of crimes. Nevertheless, for serious deliberate crimes extended or life sentences is mandatory. For example, in India, there is not any strict punishment implied by government for rapist, which is a cause of increasing numbers of relevant cases. Thus, I strongly believe in order to avoid these harmful activities stricter and longer sentences needs to be implemented. So that, one would think twice before indulging in causing harm to anyone. In conclusion, eventhough longer sentences and educational programs both can contribute in reducing crime, I strongly believe it should depend on the density of crime.