Some people think governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more people are inflicted by mental illness and mounting pressure because of a variety of social problems. Facing the phenomenon, some people tender their opinion that governments should focus on alleviating housing prices and environmental pollution, which are the root causes of illness and diseases. Personally, while solving these problems will offer great relief to people, more things should be done to ensure the wellbeing for the society. Firstly, the housing problem is the primary source of financial pressure for people across all age groups. Youngsters are pestered by the hefty price of affording the houses that are the harbour for families; the elderly also find it hard to be financially free before repaying all mortgages and saving enough for retirement. Let alone that the housing price is just one of the many problems an adult need to consider, other problems like raising family and paying for energy bills are also pressing and inevitable. Juggling these problems and facing the pressure can yield people to many health issues such as depression and diseases.More importantly, the environment today is polluted heavily, industrial waste and other human activities pose risks to the ecosystem, in turn directly impact humans. For instance, the air pollution increases the possibility of contracting lung cancer and respiratory diseases. Having said the impacts of these two problems, it can be deducted that reducing the housing price and pollution will lift much pressure from people ’s shoulders. Another reason for the government should focus on housing and environmental problems is that these problems have long-term effects if we ignore them. The financial burdens on people prevent them from having children, and pollution will subject the younger generation to sub-healthy conditions. The decrease in birth rate and less healthy population will result in more social issues and complaints. Even though there are many problems other than housing and pollution hanging in the air, the governments should set foot in these two problems as they are the most urgent and noticeable among all. However, it should be noticed that other problems, like high crime rate and inequality of education, also concern people. Without lowering the crime rate, residents feel insecure living in the countries and spend large amounts of money in security services and facilities, which the money can be better used. Inequal access to education will solidify the social castes and unsatisfied people can march and complain. In addition, economic growth will be stifled the quality of labour. Therefore, the governments should also pay attention to other concerning social issues rather than focusing on just one or two. In conclusion, housing and environmental problems should be alleviated to free people from the mounting pressure, but other problems such as crime rate and inequal education opportunities should also be solved.