The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects.

A reason that handy portable devices are popular, the utilization of smartphones is increasing, and at the same time people tend to use social media prevalently for communication. I truly agree that it has several positive improvements in society while others argue that social media leads to many disadvantages. On the one hand, communication through social platforms is very common as it provides a convenient lifestyle. This is because easy internet access allows us to keep in touch with our long-distance relationships between friends, families, partners, children, and teachers. Moreover, bonding plays a critical part in any relationship, people tend to build it stronger by keeping communication virtual if they are apart in different countries. This could be an effective way rather than setting time aside to meet in person, which additionally saves cost and time. Particularly, children can reach out to their teachers anytime in order to have a discussion about the schoolwork or assignments. Hence, communication through various channels could also advocate mental support for each other, especially while people are facing difficulties. On the other hand, some people claim that social media creates negative effects as it allows people to post their life status. This might be because the majority of users are posting that they are living their best lives with pictures, which might include high-end products or luxury places, which cause lower self-esteem for some audiences. Most importantly, it would impact mental health issues such as depression and insecurity since it delivers wrong messages to some users. Another negative effect is that internet users might have discussions over confidential personal cases through social platforms, it is likely to be leaked out if the security of an account is weak. Consequently, scammers could use it as blackmail, and then the case might become a cyberbullying case which is against the cyber law. To sum up, although having virtual communication has many drawbacks, I strongly believe that the benefits for individuals are that not only is it convenient and effective, but it also provides a sound place where we can ease our stress anytime.