Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether nations should cultivate their own subsistence in order to feed the public and purchase fewer goods from other countries has become increasingly controversial in recent years. I completely disagree with this perspective because every crop cannot flourish on the same land and not importing rice and wheat can significantly decrease the opportunity to improve economically. The most significant disadvantage is that every soil cannot produce the desired crop. This is because growing a vegetable or a fruit requires the right weather which is not the same throughout the globe. For instance, Heinz ketchup needs a specific type of tomato which is only grown in India. Therefore, it is clear that certain requirements cannot be fulfilled if every food is grown in the same place. Furthermore exporting goods and vice versa has provided tremendous growth economically. This means that trading food is also a business where the supplier gets paid for every unique crop that is grown on their land which might unfortunately not be available in another country. A notable case is Europe where they import rice from Asia which has significantly increased the economy of developing countries like Pakistan and Afghanistan. Hence importing improves the country's GDP. In conclusion, I firmly believe that countries should import food as much as needed. The disadvantage of the typical soil and the decrease in economic growth confirms this viewpoint. Government should take this into account seriously and take necessary steps in order to mitigate these issues in future