Some people believe that it is important to give gifts and presents to friends and family to show that we care about them.Others think that there are better ways to show that we care about them.discuss both views and give your opinion.

Expressing affection and gratitude towards loved ones is the basis of keeping relationships of any nature healthy and stable. There is a myriad of ways of practising it and different views on which is best: while some hold the view that gifting is the best strategy, others can name a few more meaningful alternatives used to communicate love. I firmly believe that non-materialistic ways of cherishing friends and family such as quality time together and acts of service are far more effective and fulfilling. On one hand, the whole process of acquiring an object and subsequently giving it to someone can be seen as thoughtful and therefore can convey fondness. It demonstrates to the loved one that time was spent on finding and purchasing the right gift, especially when it is customized to their personal traits. Furthermore, gifting also allows people to keep objects that serve as a reminder of their loved ones. For instance, it is very common for teenage best friends to wear similar half-heart-shaped necklaces gifted to each other as a token of their friendship. As valid as it can be, giving out gifts is still too materialistic and should not be the main way of expressing love. On the other hand, activities that do not involve possessions can be more rewarding. One very practical way of demonstrating care is intentionally keeping company to someone while doing something for fun or even everyday tasks such as running errands. This enhances the feeling of trust and appreciation because time is very valuable in modern days as almost everyone has a busy agenda. Knowing someone has made the time to be with you is the most precious gift and can hardly be taken for granted. Furthermore, the fun and shared laughter is proven to strengthen relationships between friends, family or romantic partners. To summarise, as valid as gifting can be as one of the love languages, it will never compare to the more fulfilling and meaningful ways of expressing positive feelings towards a loved one. Those who gift their time and company accomplish way more when showing affection.