You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: There is no doubt that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In modern times, globalisation has united individuals, industries and nations. In my opinion, even though this phenomenon might have some drawbacks, its benefits are evident and it should be supported. One possible disadvantage of globalization is the tendency of suppression of cultures by the ones of richer and more influential countries. For instance, if the film industry is mostly produced in Hollywood, other countries' cinemas will tend to incorporate American film trends over time. Even if it might bring new perspectives and techniques to different producers, it can also discourage diversity by setting trends and defining popularity by the patterns of small and controlling groups - compared to the vast amount of producers in the world. The benefits, however, are immense and overpowering. Globalization allows people to think together and develop the world at a much faster pace, despite distances and cultural differences. In the first semester of 2020, for example, when a mortal virus started spreading in China and after that throughout the world, quickly multiple pharmaceuticals in different countries such as the USA, China, Brazil and Germany began developing medicines and vaccines to contain it and by that prevented uncountable deaths. If it was not for this fast exchange of knowledge and goods, the population of the world might have plummeted in a much worse tragedy. To conclude, I believe that globalisation has brought multiple benefits to humanity and should be supported. In order to minimize its drawbacks, individuals should be careful to not lose their essence while still appropriating opportunities.