Write about the following topic: Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Memorising facts as an educational strategy has become a strongly debated topic. Learning by heart is claimed to be very relevant to have a brilliant academic performance. In spite of the arguments for, it is my firm opinion that filling our memory with contents is not an useful way to have a successful education. In this essay, I will discuss why I hold this viewpoint. The first point to consider is that our memory has limits within a biological frame. The reason for this is that as people age, the function of the brain is being diminished. As a result, their ability to learn and recall information with hindsight is reduced, making it far more difficult to apply their knowledge and succeed educationally. For example, it is useless to learn in high school the discovery of America in 1492 if I can´t remember that fact 10 years later. A further consideration to mention is that learning theoretical facts doesn´t garantee a well practical application of them. This is because successful education is not only about knowing simple facts, but also having a good command of applying them into real situations. As a result, people become experts in their own fields and grow their potential in the working world. For instance, architects who have done internships are more likely to improve their academic performance than that of those who focused only in the theory of their careers. To sum up, storing facts in our memory is a contested way to have a successful academic path. The ability to recall information by our memory is biologically limited. Furthermore, the theory doesn´t always go hand in hand with a well practical application. In my opinion, learning from experiences can impact more positively on people´s education rather than studying strict and solid concepts.