Some people think that bicycles are an effective way to travel and bring many benefits to society. Others feel that bicycles create more problems than they solve. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The bicycle is considered an effective and efficient way to travel by some people while others believe that they are not a good form of transportation. This essay will analyze both points of view and say why I believe that bicycles are good for people and society. There are two main reasons why some members of society believe that bicycles are beneficial. The first reason is that bikes allow people to travel without having a negative impact on the environment. This is because bicycles do not use any fuel, they are powered by people and as an added bonus help individuals to exercise and improve their health. Another reason for a positive attitude towards cycling is that it reduces traffic issues in large urban areas, The result is that cities which have more cyclists have less traffic congestion. However, there is a section of the community who thinks that bicycles have no place in modern society. One major concern is that bicycles slow down cars and other vehicles which can travel faster. An example of this is the growing rage over cyclists blocking car lanes and wanting to be treated as equal to a motorized vehicle. In addition, bicycles are seen as an outdated form of transport that has no place on modern roads. The result of this way of thinking is that fewer people cycle and more people become afraid to cycle next to powerful motor vehicles. To conclude, being good for the environment and having minimal impact on traffic issues are two reasons why people are in favour of increased bicycle use. In contrast, slowing down cars and not fitting into modern infrastructure are two arguments against using push-bikes. I feel that bicycles bring more benefits to society than drawbacks and should be used by more people.