More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

These days, numerous youngsters who come from wealthy countries, are spending time in underprivileged-nations as volunteers. Some of the prominent reasons for this phenomenon will be discussed with merits for both individuals and developing countries. To start with, there are several convincing factors associated with this practice. The most significant reason may be personal growth and skill development. This is why by doing some volunteering activities such as teaching, building and healthcare, they have a chance to develop their adaptibility, teamwork, problem-solving and communication skills. That might be more advantageous for their future social life and career as well. Also, it gives them an opportunity to practice in their fields. Young people, in effect, get a lot of benefits for their social life. Moreover, exposure to new cultures is another obvious factor for volunteering in poorer countries. When youngsters go to the developing states to aid to its population with practical actions like construction works, they experience new cultures and perspectives first-hand, providing them with a deeper understanding of the world. This, consequently, often makes them more empathetic, open minded, and culturally aware. In my mind, both the communities and young people gain equally from such volunteering work. From the community's viewpoint, they gain access to resources, knowledge and infrastructure development. Case in point, when volunteers go there to help in different fields, its inhabitants benefit from their works because youngsters from developed countries are more likely to have great knowledge and abilities to share with them. As a consequence, poorer community can improve its economic and social conditions in an easy way. Furthermore, from the volunteer's perspective, they acquire deeper life-changing experiences. Not only do they get valuable experiences, but they also have access to understand the value of money, luxury and happiness. These can help them shape their worldview, future careers, and personal values. As a result, the more experiences they collect from volunteering, the better quality of life they can create for themselves. To conclude, while the developing countries receive practical help, young people arguably benefit more deeply through personal and professional growth they experience by doing unpaid jobs such as building and teaching in underprivileged countries.