In many Countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some People Say an ageing population Creates problems for governments, Other People think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

While it is a commonly held belief is that in many societies elderly people are considered to be a nuisance and interfere with the advancement. However, there is also an argument that older citizens provide massive benefits. This essay will analyse to what extent the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, there are tremendous advantages to having the elderly in communities. First, old people play big roles in dealing with youth. In other words, the population over 60 have amazing wisdom as well as experiences. For instance, young people can be advised by ageing groups. Secondly, the elderly represent a kind of love, security and support for family members. It is also possible to say that if each family had the luxury of grandparents, their homes would be full of energy and happiness. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages when there is a large number of elderly people in society. One problem is the increased hospitalisation rate because they have plenty of illnesses. As a result, they are unable to participate in any activity. Another issue is that if they didn't have the ability to work, they would decrease the country's income. To clarify that the governments will spend a great deal of money on them in order to treat and help them, so that they will survive. In conclusion, it is clear to see that there are many advantages in having an ageing population in the community. These definitely outweigh the disadvantages.