Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Some manufacturers who produce food and drinks add more sugar, which generates many health problems. Sugary products should be made costly to encourage people to consume less sugar. I personally agree that making sugary products more expensive will help to reduce sugar consumption. First and foremost, sugary products are widely available nowadays, and we can find them easily. People can buy sugary products everywhere, such as supermarkets, minimarkets, and even at schools. As a result, people of all ages, from children to adults can buy sugary products without difficulty. For example, in Indonesian schools, syrup is commonly sold in canteens. Although the syrup contains a lot of sugar, it is a popular drink in elementary school and junior high school because the price is low. Furthermore, higher prices can limit the number of buyers. Consumers will be more likely to think twice before buying an expensive product. For instance, pasteurized milk is healthier, tastier, and contains less sugar than full-cream milk, but full-cream milk is more popular because it is cheaper. Since pasteurized milk is more expensive, many buyers prefer to choose full-cream milk. Finally, although some people might argue that rising prices will affect people's finances, there is no doubt that governments must take action to regulate sugary products. One step that can be taken is to increase the cost of sugary products to encourage people to consume less sugar. In conclusion, I believe by making sugary products more expensive, people will be encouraged to consume less sugary products, which can lead to better health outcomes.