Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

It is clear that technology has a profound impact on communication between people. Technology has changed the way people communicate in various ways, and in my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects. Nowadays, virtual communication is the most popular means of communication due to its convenience and worldwide access. People who live in other countries can interact without ever meeting each other. For instance, overseas students can video call their parents with mobile devices connected to the Internet. Additionally, education that has applied technology in teaching, becomes more efficient. Students have the ability to study remotely if they suffer from sickness. Plus, teachers can give more study materials to students to review their lessons. During the COVID pandemic, many schools operate online classes as well as take online exams at home. However, over-reliance on virtual interaction may bring some downsides. Firstly, communicating virtually can result in missing personal connections between people. When we meet face to face, it creates a genuine emotional bond that can't be produced through a screen. Moreover, without body language and nonverbal cues, it is tough to understand people's tone and intentions. Secondly, the availability of new communication technology can also have the result of isolating people and discouraging real interaction. To illustrate, many young people choose to make friends online rather than meet their peers in the real world. In conclusion, it is undeniable that technology has varied the way people interact with each other, but not all of the outcomes have been positive.