In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more people, nowadays, are following a vegetarian diet. Although there are some drawbacks of this trend such as an imbalance in our ecosystem, I believe that staying healthy and away from diseases offers greater advantages. Therefore, this essay will discuss how the advantages of eating vegan food outweigh the disadvantages. One of the main drawbacks of the greater number of people consuming plant-based food is that it would affect our ecosystem. That is to say that if everybody consumes vegetarian food then there will be an imbalance between plants and animals, as greater plant consumption would overpopulate some animal species. For instance, animals like cows, chickens, and lambs would dominate our ecological system, therefore making it uneven and imbalanced. However, I would argue that the advantages of eating vegetarian food are greater. Consuming a plant-based diet such as fruits and vegetables helps an individual to stay healthy. This is because meals prepared from vegan foods are lower in fat in comparison to non-vegetarian foods which means that a body would remain fit, away from diseases such as obesity and cholesterol. For example, it has been recorded that people who eat clean diets from plants are healthier in both physical and psychological manner. For these reasons, I believe that the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks. In conclusion, although there is a disadvantage of this increasing trend of people following vegetarian meals, as it imbalances our ecosystem; however, I believe that being fit and healthy are some of the advantages of eating clean food which overbalances the drawbacks.