Parents should be punished for the crimes of their children. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, crimes can be committed by anyone, including children. However, I strongly disagree with those who feel that parents should be punished if their children commit crimes. Firstly, punishing parents for the crimes committed by their children is unfair. In fact, criminal behaviours are influenced by various factors such as environment, peer pressure and social media. Punishing parents for their children's actions is inequitable. It is well known that criminal behaviour is affected by external factors, which are beyond parental control, especially when children are outside parental supervision. Therefore, parents can't fully be blamed for the crime acts committed by their son. Secondly, children must take responsibility for their criminal actions. Children who have reached a certain age, such as teenagers, should be able to differentiate between good and bad things and be responsible for their actions. For instance, when a teenager is caught stealing from a shop, this case is seriously criminal category, so the teenagers must take responsibility for their actions without involving their parents. Moreover, punishing their parents for the crimes can lead to decreasing children's responsibility because they think their parents will take responsibility for their actions which leads to destroying their morals and maturity. Therefore, children must be punished for their criminal actions. In conclusion, punishing parents for their children ’s actions has negative effects because it is unfair to parents and can lead to destroying children's morale and maturity. I, therefore, remain firmly convinced that parents shouldn't be punished if their children commit criminal actions.