Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, more and more animals have become at risk of extinction. The cause of this is largely related to human activity. Therefore, the solutions rely on us taking action and changing our behaviours. This essay will look at the main reasons for the loss of wildlife and propose some possible ways of resolving them. One primary cause for the greater number of animals becoming endangered is the destruction of animals ' habitats for commercial reasons. For example, many trees in Borneo forests have been cut down due to the needs of giant wood-product industries, making more animals lose their shelters and sources of food. Thus, this deforestation exacerbates the extinction of endangered wild species and poses a risk to those that are still ubiquitous; they could become rare. A possible way to tackle this problem is by raising wood-based companies' taxes. Although taxes are often unpopular, they may be the only way of restricting the amount of wood they use, therefore reducing massive deforestation to preserve wildlife. Furthermore, a second cause would be the pollution of the oceans. Many sea creatures suffer from unrestricted human littering habits, polluting the sea with plastics and other harmful items. For instance, plastics thrown in the sea contain microplastics that make turtles less fertile, decreasing their reproduction rates. This activity is clearly detrimental and opens the possibility of whole species being wiped out. One prospective counter-attempt is by passing laws. Despite some critics arguing that it might be too complex and hardly achieved because it needs international collaborations, it seems to be the only choice for regulating irresponsible garbage management practices by punishing those who carelessly manage their waste. In turn, restricting sea garbage disposal makes more sea creatures' offspring emerge, putting them at no risk of vanishing. In conclusion, a growing number of wildlife is being threatened by mankind's activity, and it is up to humans to solve this problem. The destruction of animals ' habitats and pollution of the oceans are the main factors in this issue. To solve this, we need to increase taxes on wood companies and increase restrictions on irresponsible waste management practices. It is my view that, with global cooperation, many of these species can be saved.