Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A large number of patients replaced visiting a doctor with alternative medicines and treatments. In my opinion, it is a negative development causing huge problems. To begin, there are causes of why people would try these alternative medicines instead of visiting their usual doctor. Firstly, clinics and hospitals are expensive that's why patients might try ways to treat themselves other than visiting a doctor. Secondly, some people believe that natural remedies are better than all the chemicals in medicine. To sum up, cost and beliefs are causes of why people might try alternative medicines and treatments. I believe that alternative medicines and treatments are negative developments as they can lead to bigger problems. Furthermore, patients can't diagnose themselves at home whereas, doctors use hospital equipment such as x-rays, urinalysis, and hemolysis. Moreover, in most cases natural remedies do not work better than clinically tested medicine and are FDA approved. In addition, alternative medicine can cause side effects. Some chronic diseases, for example, diabetes are treated with insulin which has no alternative. Finally, alternative medicines and treatments are negative developments causing problems in diagnosis, effectiveness of treatment, and side effects. In conclusion, I think that alternative medicines and treatments such as natural remedies are negative developments. However, there are reasons why people might go for them, but these reasons are not more important than the patient's health.